café for contemporary art

Odds and Sods

Posted in posts by Tim, Recent Complicities by Tim on June 8, 2011

Hey guys! Long time no talk. I’m back from Montréal and back at work…I was planning on being back earlier but I got sidelined when I had my wisdom teeth taken out. I promptly developed dry sockets and was put on synthetic morphine for a week. Needless to say, working would have been more than a little difficult at that point.

Anyway, what’s new at cafca? A lot of things, actually. First, for the coffee geeks: we got new burrs and a new adjustment ring for our Anfims, and new precision filter baskets for the Synesso. It amazes me how changes like these affect the coffee we serve!

Speaking of coffee, right now we are offering 4 single-origin brews from 49th: Colombia Los Idolos Microlot, El Salvador La Providencia Estate, and two Ethiopian Yirgacheffes: Kochere and Organic Amaro Gayo. They’re all really nice, but right now I’m really digging the Amaro Gayo and La Providencia on Brewt and Aeropress. Stop by while I’m working sometime and I’ll make you one if you ask really nicely 😉

Next up: the art frontier. Our current exhibit is from a very talented young artist named Dylan Humphreys. It’s got a very urban and improvised feel to it – I like it a lot. It’s one of my favourite exhibits we’ve had so far. Drop by and see the space; it looks incredible!

And that’s a quick summary of what’s been going on lately. We’ve got some really cool live music and even a “rockumentary” lined up for later this summer, so stay tuned!

LOL,

Tim

Leave a comment